Favorite CC Holster

19 10 2008

I found this holster by accident. I needed a side holster that would fit the Glock 17 and Smith&Wesson MP9.

The person from the gun shop that was helping me that day showed me this small holster that fit both (it fit the G17 better though).

quickdrawblackbig
The Tagua “Quickdraw Holster”.

When I say concealed carry holster, I mean under the shirt-tail holster. It has enough slant to make a small footprint under the shirt.

Once you put this on your belt, the contour of your body pull the leather tighter against the pistol.

One of the things I did was an old baseball trick. I soaked the holster in water for about an hour – long enough to make sure the holster was well saturated and then put the Glock 17 into the holster and set them out in the sun to dry.
When the sun dries the leather; it tightens up the grip and contours to the pistol. After the holster was dry; I removed the Glock (and gave it a good cleaning) and used some good leather oil to re-seal the holster.

The great thing about this holster is it’s price. The site’s MSRP for this holster is $42.00, but I picked it up for around $35.00

I still use my Blackhawk CQC holster for both; G17 and MP9, but when I don’t want that big of a holster footprint; I use the Tagua Quickdraw holster.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 01 2009
dillimax690

Well in my humble opinion I think that MP9’s and G17’s are too big for CC, but to each his own. Right now I’m using a Kahr PM9 with a Uncle Mike’s neoprene IWB holster. Really comfortable, cheap ($13), and water proof.

8 01 2009
Pistols And More

Well, for leg and shoulder I would have to agree, but under the shirt or jacket, they work pretty well.

Uncle Mike Holsters have come a long way since I bought one. No longer a one-size-fits-all type of holster.

9 01 2009
dillimax690

They’re still cheap, i think they still do the “one size fits all” but instead of all they’ve narrowed it to barrel lengths.. hahaha. really I just wish my State would readopt open carry.

Leave a Reply

