Glock 33 and 36

25 09 2008

Since a friend of mine decided to purchase a Glock 36, I decided to take a look at a subcompact model I had been looking at for a few months now – the Glock 33.

The G33 is a .357 cal subcompact Glock.

I used to own a Smith & Wesson .357 magnum a ,, um,, long time ago. It was the very first handgun I had ever purchased and I purchased it at what use to be my favorite gun shop in Alabama – “Helm” Gun shop. The place is no longer there – the place now is a fireworks stand.

Back to the G33.

Glock’s page has this about the pistol:

GLOCK 33

Pocket rocket

High muzzle velocity and energy packed in
an easy handling subcompact pistol:
The GLOCK 33 in .357 opens up entirely
new possibilities for you. The proven
GLOCK design is comfortable worn concealed.
Nine rounds are available for use in the standard magazine.
As a backup weapon with superior ballistic performance, the “pocket rocket” is second to none.

Glock’s Tech Specs on the G33:

CALIBER
.357
SYSTEM
Safe Action

WEIGHT
560 g / 19.75 oz.
LOADED (~)
755 g / 26.63 oz.

LENGTH
160 mm / 6.29 in.
HEIGHT
106 mm / 4.17 in.

MAG. CAPACITY
Standard: 9
OPTIONAL
11/13/15/17

WIDTH
30 mm / 1.18 in.
BARREL HEIGHT
32 mm / 1.26 in.

TRIGGER PULL
2.5 kg / 5.5 lbs.
TRIGGER TRAVEL
12.5 mm / 0.5 in.

LINE OF SIGHT
144 mm / 5.67 in.
BARREL LENGTH
88 mm / 3.46 in.

BARREL RIFLING
right hand, hexagonal
LENGTH OF TWIST
406 mm / 15.98 in.

I took 2 pistols to the range – the G33 and the G36. I wanted to see what my friend was raving about on the G36.

G33:
g33

G36:
g36b

Since the G36 is a slimline model; it felt pretty GOOD in the hand, plus, since it’s a single stacked magazine; this helps a LOT slimming down the bulk.

Both pistols felt good and were very easily concealed with a waistband holster. Even the simple leather holster for my belt I have made it very easy to conceal underneath the shirt.
Simple leather belt-holster:
leather-belt-holster02b

In all, I probably put 200 rounds each down range with no jams at all. I actually tried to make both of them jam by shooting every way I could think of – limp-wrist, upside down, sideways (gangsta style) and a few other ways that resulted in the same – no jam.
*Side Note* I have NO Idea how someone can hit ANYTHING shooting head-over gangsta style!

I wasn’t surprised that there were no jams – it’s a Glock. If it’s one thing the Glock does when the trigger is pulled – is fire.

I Do see what my friend was raving about though. The G36 is a great concealed carry weapon. The recoil on the G36 is less than I had expected. Considering the size and weight; I was expecting a little more than what I got. Triple-taps were easy to hit center-mass on a 7 inch target at 15 and 20 yards.
The G33 is – in my opinion – one of the best subcompact models I’ve fired in a long time.
I was able to jump from the G36 to the G33 between magazines without throwing off my aim or rhythm – hitting center-mass on 7 inch targets without missing – within a 4 to 5 inch pattern around dead center.

So far, I have only found 2 Glocks that felt “thick” in my hand, but it wasn’t these two. That’s for another post at another time.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment