Kel-Tec PF9

13 10 2008

I had a chance today to take a new pistol to the range. I was NOT excited about this particular pistol, but after the day at the range was over, I came away with a better Much better feeling than when I started.

The Kel-Tec PF9 was the pistol I took with me today and was able to run through two – 100 round boxes of ammo.
The price tag of this pistols isn’t bad; $333.00. I can think of a few pistols that didn’t do as well as this one did that costs a LOT more.

The largest thing I found with the Kel-Tec PF9 was how easy it is to conceal.

This pistols is a small frame pistol:
kel-tec_pf9_01

Specs:

  • length: 578 in (149 mm)
  • height: 414 in (108 mm)
  • width: 78 in (22 mm)
  • weight: 14.5 oz (410 g)
  • trigger pull: 6 lb 8 oz (29 N)
  • 9 mm Luger caliber
  • 3.5 in (89 mm) barrel with 6 grooves and 1:16 right-hand twist
  • 7+1 round detachable steel single-column magazine
  • short recoil operated locked breech
  • semi-automatic
  • double action only trigger mechanism
  • hammer block safety system
  • three dot sight system with windage adjustable rear sight

This is from the Kel-Tec’s website:

The PF-9 is a semi-automatic, locked breech pistol, chambered for the 9 mm Luger cartridge. It has been developed from our highly successful P-11 and P-3AT pistols with maximum concealability in mind. The PF-9 has a single stack magazine holding 7 rounds. It is the lightest and flattest 9 mm ever made. Firing mechanism is Double-Action Only with an automatic hammer block safety. The PF-9 will be available in blued, parkerized, and hard chrome finishes. Grips will be in black, grey, and olive drab.
The PF-9 accessory rail will accept the latest compact weapon lights and lasers.

I think my Glock 36 might have to make room in the cabinet!

The Kel-Tec PF9 is a small frame, light weight weapon that is perfect for a concealed carry pistol. The holster I used for this pistol is the Tagua Quick Draw holster. This is a belt holster that rides high enough with an angle that makes it perfect for a quick removal holster.

I’m not a huge fan of small pistols, but this one made a good impression when I first held it. THIS is why I took it to the range. The grip felt Good and felt like you could shoot it all day without a problem with slipping because of sweating.

This pistol is NOT a complicated pistol:
kel-tec_pf9_02
Once broken down, there is only one more part than the Glock has – the slide lock pin.

Out of 200 rounds, I had two jams. The first jam happened at around shot 30 and the second jam happened around shot 75. After the second jam, I took it back to the truck and field-stripped it. I gave it a GOOD cleaning to remove all the packaging grease and then re-lubed the pistol and took it back to the 35 foot mark and started shooting again. I went through the rest of the first box of 100 and then the second box of 100 without another jam.

One thing I noticed after shooting was how dirty the front of the pistol was. I attributed this to the rounds I was shooting and the fact the pistol is so short.

After shooting it, I packed it back up and took it back to the shop; filled out the paperwork, waited for the law enforcement check to come back, and paid the man.

If you need a good backup concealed carry weapon; the Kel-Tec PF9 is not a bad choice at all.

To be completely honest, this pistol is actually a present for my better half. 🙂
Needless to say; it’ll find it’s way into my pocket when I’m traveling.

I would suggest heading to you local gunshop (if it has a range) and ask to put a few down range with the Kel-Tec PF9 to see if it’s the right CCW for you.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment